BJP-Shiv Sena alliance sweeps Mumbai, VBA makes impressive debut

The BJP-Shiv Sena combine has won all of the six parliamentary constituencies of Mumbai. Though Congress-NCP alliance candidates are trailing at the second position, candidates from the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) have made impressive debuts, holding on to the third place.


In a huge upset for INC’s Milind Deora, Shiv Sena’s Arvind Sawant has retained Mumbai South with an admirable margin. Meanwhile, BJP’s Gopal Shetty has trounced newbie Urmila Matondkar of the INC in Mumbai North, securing thrice the number of votes as opposed to the actor turned politician.

Elsewhere, in Mumbai South Central Shiv Sena’s Rahul Shewale secured a victory over INC’s Eknath Gaikwad, while BJP’s Poonam Mahajan has retained the Mumbai North Central constituency defeating INC’s Priya Dutt. BJP’s Manoj Kotak, who was fielded instead of local favourite Kirit Somaiya, also did not disappoint securing victory over another local favourite NCP’s Sanjay Dina Patil in Mumbai North East. Meanwhile, in Mumbai North West Gajanan Kirtikar of the Shiv Sena upset INC’s Sanjay Nirupam.  

VBA candidates have also performed admirably in Mumbai, taking the third place in almost all constituencies. At the time of going to press at 3 PM, VBA’s Niharika Khondalay had secured over 60,000 votes in Mumbai North East, while Sushil Bhosle polled over 55,000 votes in Mumbai South Central. Suresh Shetty secured over 13,000 votes in Mumbai North West. In Mumbai North Central Abdur Rehman Anjaria scored over 27,000 votes. Sunil Thorat won close to 10,000 votes in Mumbai North. In Mumbai South Dr. Anil Kumar got close to 25,000 votes.



Related Articles