BJP workers thrash Election Official in Moradabad in Phase III polls

As Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh went to polls today, BJP workers thrashed a presiding officer at a polling booth in Bilari. The police had to intervene to save him.


The BJP workers alleged that the presiding officer was asking voters to press the button beside the cycle symbol.

The cycle symbol belongs to the Samajwadi party (SP) which is contesting the elections in an alliance with Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP).

Reportedly, the BJP workers alleged that the officer, Mohd. Zubair was pressurizing women voters to press the ‘cycle button of the SP.

Though the officer was removed from the booth no action was taken on the attackers who resorted to violence.

On the other hand, in Rampur, SP leader Azam Khan’s son, Abdullah Khan alleged that over 300 EVMs have malfunctioned in the constituency and that the DM has resorted ot threats

Ten constituencies of Uttar Pradesh (UP) vote on April 23 in the third phase of Lok Sabha polls of 2019. These are Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Badaun, Aonla, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Pilibhit and Barelly.

Both SP and Congress have fielded a Muslim candidate in Moradabad. While SP has given the ticket to a popular doctor, Congress has given it to a popular Urdu poet Imran Pratapgarhi.



Related Articles