Demand for reservation benefits to Dalit Christians and Dalit Muslims raised in front of President

As per Para 3 of Constitution (SCs) Order 1950 any non-Hindu cannot be regarded as a scheduled caste.

Photo credit: Two Circles

On August 10, 2018, The All India Muslim Majlis-e-Mushawarat (AIMMM), UP in association with like-minded social activist and NGOs organised a seminar on “Discriminatory provisions of para 3 of Constitution (SCs) Order 1950” at Ambedkar Mahasabha, Hazratganj. Lucknow.

 As per Para 3 of Constitution (SCs) Order 1950 any non-Hindu cannot be regarded as a scheduled caste. However, in 1956, this order was amended to include Sikhs, and again in 1990 to include the Buddhists among the scheduled castes. So now after these amendments, para 3 says that nobody who is not a Hindu, Sikh or Buddhist can be a scheduled caste.
 Thus, Para 3 of the constitutional order (SC) excludes Dalit Christians and Muslims from the benefits of reservation in the fields of education and employment given to the members of SCs under Article 341 of the Indian Constitution.

Dr Anis Ansari led the delegation of All India Muslim Majlis e Mushawarat UP to Sri Ram Nath Kovind, President of India at Raj Bhavan, Lucknow and submitted a memorandum for the abolition of religious discrimination against Muslim & Christian Dalits under para 3 of Presidential order  Constitution (SCs) Order 1950.

The president assured that he said he would get the memorandum examined as this issue is dealt with by the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment.

“If there is no response from the Govt of India, we will continue our struggle till this discrimination against Muslim & Christian Dalits is ended. We demand para 3 of President’s Constitution (SCs) Order 1950 to be abolished & the benefits of reservation under Art 341 of Constitution to be extended to Muslim & Christian Dalits also” said Dr Ansari, President, UP Unit, AIMMM.

 The delegation included Maulana Zaheer Ahmad Siddiqui Nadawi Vice President AIMMM UP, Sri Mohd Khalid Vice President AIMMM UP,  Sri Tariq Siddiqui Secretary General AIMMM U.P. & Bhai Tej Singh National President Ambedkar Samaj Party.

This story was first published on Two Circles. Read the original here.




Related Articles