EC bars hate-mongering BJP leaders from campaigning: Delhi

Anurag Thakur and Parvesh Sahib Singh had made offensive, insensitive and hateful remarks about anti-CAA protesters

Anurag Thakur

On Wednesday, the Election Commission of India issued a note stating it was ordering the removal of BJP leaders Anurag Thakur and Parvesh Sahib Singh from the star campaigner list. They have been removed indefinitely and with immediate effect. The notification may be viewed here:

EC letter

Anurag Thakur, Union Minister of State for Finance & Corporate Affairs, had recently stoked controversy by inciting people to “gun down traitors”. At an election rally, Thakur shouted, “desh ke gaddaron ko” and the crowd responded with “goli maaro saalon ko [shoot the traitors to the country]”. In the video he be seen asking “ye kaun hai gaddar” to which the crowd responds “Kejriwal” and he asks, “Pappu ko bhool gaye?” (Who are these traitors?) (Have you forgotten about Pappu? – reference to Rahul Gandhi).

Singh meanwhile went a step further. In an interview to ANI, he said, “Lakhs of people gather there [Shaheen Bagh]. People of Delhi will have to think and take a decision. They will enter your houses, rape your sisters and daughters, kill them.” Verma added, “There’s time today, Modi ji and Amit Shah won’t come to save you tomorrow.” Considering that Shaheen Bagh protests are led by women, this comment sounds bizarre.

Delhi is all set to go to polls on February 8.


Union Minister says “gun down traitors” at Delhi Election rally

BJP MP suggests Shaheen Bagh protesters are rapists




Related Articles