From counting of votes by the rule book to respecting the mandate of the people, transparency and integrity is key: People’s Organisations, Delhi

As a culmination of a ten-month long campaign to ensure that people’s issues that challenge the policies of the regime, two meets in Bengaluru and Delhi (May 21 and May 28) have launched a #VotersWillMustPrevail campaign to closely track the process of counting of votes and smooth transition of power respecting the people’s mandate.

Over the past two weeks, in Bengaluru and Delhi, two national level meets have declared their intent to monitor the counting of votes given the dip in faith in the independent functioning of the current Election Commission of India (ECI). #VotersWillMustPrevail is the name of the collective movement that has evolved and will intensify over the next few weeks that are critical for democracy. People’s organisations, farmers and workers groups apart from public intellectuals are part of this effort that will intensify its work over the next few weeks.

The concerted campaign will ensure that the counting process conducted by the ECI is exemplary, as per the rule book and not influenced by any bias. For this, a detailed action plan has been also rolled out. Counting to the ongoing 18th Lok Sabha takes place on Tuesday, June 4. The second stage after that is the issue of close interaction with the institutions of democracy –be it the President of India, Smt. Draupadi Murmu, the ECI and the Leaders of the INDIA Alliance with regards to the transition period that follows thereafter.

The meeting in Delhi on May 28 was attended by senior leaders of the Samyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM), Darshan Pal (Punjab, who attended online), Suresh Kauth, Haryana, Hannan Mollah, Polit Bureau Member of the CPI-M and Convenor of the Bhoomi Adhikar Andolan, Krishna Prasad of the All India Kisan Sabha (AIKS), Parakala Prabhakar, political economist, Syeeda Hamid, former Chairperson of the National Commission of Women (NCW), John Dayal, senior activist and writer, Nadeem Shaikh, United Against Hate, Tara Rao and Noor Sridhar, Edelu Karnataka, Dhananjay, President of the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union (JNUSU) and Teesta Setalvad (Vote for Democracy). Senthil Sashikumar, Indian National Congress and also a candidate from Tamil Nadu and Mano Thangaraj, minister for Dairy Development in the DMK government in Tamil Nadu were also present. Several participants like MG Devashyayam and Sudhir Vombatkere, experts in the electioneering process, Subhashini Ali, senior polit bureau member CPI-M joined online.

Last week, a similar gathering had met in Bengaluru on May 21, 2024.

The resolution states that “The entire period of this 18th Lok Sabha election, particularly after the declaration of polls and the operation of the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) been marked by a hitherto unprecedented violations of the Constitution, Indian law and the MCC and also blatant instances of evident malpractices in electioneering.”

In addition to emphasising upon the blatant unwillingness of the ECI to discharge their duties as prescribed by the Constitution of India, the resolution seeks to collectively alert the fellow citizens of India regarding the possibilities of manipulation in the counting process and the transition period that follows thereafter. It was also provided in the resolution that issues such as agrarian distress, rampant economic inequality and impoverishment, unemployment and crimes against women set the narrative of the current elections, forming the opinion of the voting public. The mandate of the people, which has a possibility of the current ruling regime, should be fairly implemented.

The resolution states that “There is genuine apprehension and fear that these levels of structured manipulations will continue both during the counting process and thereafter, failing to respect the mandate of the people.”

Based on the aforementioned apprehensions and concern, a resolution to form a “vigilant voter task force” was issued for the following:

“1. We the People Are closely watching the Counting Process scheduled for June 4, 2024. 

  1. We strongly remind all political parties to fulfil their involvement and role in the Counting Process.
  2. We will reject any Mandate based on horse trading. 
  3. We remind the Supreme Court of India of its duties to ensure free and fair elections. 
  4. We strongly impress upon the President of India to ensure a smooth formation of government based on a free and fair result.
  5. We urge that whoever comes to power will abide by, protect and uphold the Constitution.”

A total of three key interventions and their mechanisms were also put forth by the resolution. The first intervention was to retain and build upon the narrative as set by the People by encouraging independent media, building a reality-based counter narrative and countering the tactic of psychological manipulation employed by the ruling government.

The second intervention is to ensure citizens vigilance on counting day by involving citizens at the local level and political parties, as well as mobilization of people across the country in sensitive booths to ensure that the vote counting process is by the law and rule book, free and fair. The last intervention of to act as a Transition Watch Commission upon the declaration of result. To ensure the same, multiple press meets in coordination with mass organisations and civil society will be held. If required, Constitutional Courts will also be approached. 

The complete resolution can be read here.


The complete resolution in Hindi can be read here:


The complete resolution in Marathi can be read here:



The 17th Lok Sabha in review

Federation of Karnataka State People’s Movements to protest against Prajwal Revanna sexual abuse case on May 30

Billboard governance: Under Modi, majority of 906 schemes faced funding squeeze



Related Articles