Hasty exit poll conducted during the seventh phase of voting in Bengal

National News Channels gave major seats share to NDA whereas Bengal’s local channel predicts victory of India bloc in Bengal with 22-24 seats

As India’s mammoth Lok Sabha Election 2024 concludes on June 1 and result is to come on June 4. Just after completion of voting for 7th phase various National Media channels released their data as Exit Polls for Lok Sabha Election 2024. Even some channels like Republic Bharat, News X and TV5 Telegu released their data even polling for Bihar, Chandigarh, Odisha, Punjab, UP, West Bengal and Himachal Pradesh were going on.

The data turnaround data released in such a way that clearly indicating a confirmation biased of media channels in between the contesting parties in Bengal and Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Most of the exit polls have predicted that the BJP will get more seats than the Bengal’s ruling party TMC in the state.

NDA inclined Exit Polls for Bengal by National Media:

The Exit Polls by major media house inclined towards NDA.  As per date released by India Today-Axis My India Exit Polls for the 20224 Lok Sabha elections BJP likely to win 26-31 seats in Bengal and TMC will remain in between 11-14 and 0-2 for Left(M). The India Today-Axis My India exit poll predicted the BJP to get 46 per cent vote share in West Bengal. ABP Ananda Exit Polls in association with CVoter conducted Exit Polls and expected 23-27 seats for BJP, 13-17 for TMC, 1-3 INC. Not surprisingly, Republic TV PMARQ made a conservative estimate of 22 seats for BJP out of 47 and rest for others. As per Exit Polls released by Jan Ki Baat, NDA will get 21-26 seats, TMC 16-18 seats and others 0-2 seats.

Bengal’s local Exit Polls for Lok Sabha 2024 expects INDIA Bloc will get setback:

The Senior Journalist and Editor Santanu Dutta Choudhary from West Bengal expected 22-24 seats for TMC, 16-18 seats for BJP, 1 to Congress and 0-1 CPI(M). Bengal’s “Nagorik” News media house in their Exit Polls anticipated 22-24 seats for TMC, 16-18 to BJP and 2 seats for Congress and CPM. The exit polls data released by West Bengal’s local news channel Calcutta News estimated 20-25 seats for TMS and 16 to 21 for BJP and rest for left and congress.

Tulmuk in Nandigram, where Debangshu Bhattacharya is an MP candidate from TMC. This place is also known as Adhikari gar (means the place for Debangshu Adhikari). However, Debangshu Bhattacharya busted over the media hype taking reference from the previous poll. Over the Exit Polls he said, “Purba Medinipur has 16 seats where 9 seats were won by TMC and if we see the talks about the undivided Medinipur, it has 35 seats and TMC secured 26 seats.

TMC MP Sougata Roy, who is seeking re-election from the Dum Dum Lok Sabha seat for a fourth consecutive term, also rejected the exit poll predictions. TMC said it believed in people’s mandate.

Hasty turnaround of Exit Polls misleading and biased:

The exit polls released by National Media House no doubt biased and inclined towards ruling party. Shockingly Times Now provided mismatched data in Exit Polls. Times Now expected BJP likely to win 21 seats and 20 seats to TMC out of 42 but no clear on other 1 seat.



Related Articles