Letter to the Chairman, CACP

To,
Professor Vijay Paul Sharma
Chairman, Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP),
Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare,
Government of India

Respected Chairman,

We appreciate you for the organization of CACP meeting with Farmers Associations for Rabi Price Policy for 2025-26 marketing season. In this context we would like to present the following points for your perusal and immediate follow up action.

- 1. Though the BJP led National Democratic Alliance had promised to implement the M S Swaminathan Commission recommendation of C2+50% way back in 2014. But even after 10 years, the CACP is fixing the MSP based on the A2+FL+50% formula which is way below C2+50%. In the last week, the Information and Broadcasting Minister had announced that the MSP approved for Kharif crops was 1.5 times more than the cost of production which is incorrect and all the Kisan organisations were forced to express their strong resentment and protest. We have given as an annexure the difference between A2+FL+50% and C2+50% in detail against all the 14 crops.
- 2. In this context, we apprehend the CACP will be fixing the Rabi Price also based on the A2+FL+50% Policy. We strongly demand the CACP to ensure the NDA Government will shift the current policy to adopt C2+50% formulae for fixing Rabi Prices.
- 3. We consider the CACP has a greater responsibility to bring out a White Paper to inform the farmers the difference in price under C2+50% formulae and A2+FL+50% formulae and request to do so at the earliest before fixing the Rabi Price for 2025-26.
- 4. Presently below 10% of the farmers benefit out of the MSP announced by the CACP since there is no guaranteed procurement system across the country to ensure purchase based on this rate hence, the White Paper shall cover such details also.
- 5. We demand the CACP to advise the NDA Government to fix the prices ensuring minimum 30% of the gross value of the value added products in the brand market made out of the agricultural commodities will be shared with the farmers.
- 6. We demand CACP to advise the NDA Government to form a Price Stabilization Fund through collecting shares from the monopoly trade and agribusiness corporates which makes huge profit out of processing and marketing of the agricultural products.
- 7. AIKS reminds that during the last ten years under the NDA rule, considering the inflation and price rise the cost of production increased five times and the living cost also went unbridled thus making the farming in huge loss, farm households are facing severe indebtedness thus forcing 31 farmers commit suicide daily during the same period.
- 8. We demand repeal of GST on inputs in agriculture, no privatisation of electricity, ensuring minimum support price to all crops with guaranteed procurement and minimum wage for dignified life to workers, comprehensive linkage of MNREGS with farming, Public Sector extending interest free credit and insurance cover to all individual farms and promoting collectives and cooperatives of small farmers and agricultural workers to reduce cost of production and to enhance production and productivity.

Annexure-1. As per the conservative cost estimates of the Commission on Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP) the C2+50% is far above the MSP in all the 14 Kharif crops as shown in the table below.

Crop	MSP	C2+50%	Losses/Quintal

1	Paddy	Rs.2,300/Qtl	Rs.3,012/Qtl	Rs.712/Qtl
2	Jowar	Rs.3,371/Qtl	Rs.4,437/Qtl	Rs.1,066/Qtl
3	Bajra	Rs.2625/Qtl	Rs.2,904/Qtl	Rs.279/Qtl
4	Maize	Rs.2,225/Qtl	Rs.2,795/Qtl	Rs.570/Qtl
5	Ragi	Rs.4,290/Qtl	Rs.5,198/Qtl	Rs.908/Qtl
6	Arhar (Tur)	Rs.7550/Qtl	Rs.9,756/Qtl	Rs.2,206/Qtl
7	Moong	Rs.8,682/Qtl	Rs.10,956/Qtl	Rs.2,274/Qtl
8	Urad	Rs.7,400/Qtl	Rs.9744/Qtl	Rs.2,344/Qtl
9	Groundnut	Rs.6,783/Qtl	Rs.8,496/Qtl	Rs.1,713/Qtl
10	Soybean	Rs.4,892/Qtl	Rs.6437/Qtl	Rs.1,555/Qtl
11	Sunflower	Rs.7,280/Qtl	Rs.9,891/Qtl	Rs.2,611/Qtl
12	Sesamum	Rs.9,267/Qtl	Rs.12,228/Qtl	Rs.2,961/Qtl
13	Nigerseed	Rs.8,717/Qtl	Rs.11,013/Qtl	Rs.2,296/Qtl
14	Cotton	Rs.7,121/Qtl	Rs.9,345/Qtl	Rs.2,224/Qtl

Sd/-**Ashok Dhawale President** Sd/-Vijoo Krishnan General Secretary